The Prize of the Academy of Fine Arts of Finland awarded to Katarina Reuter


The Academy of Fine Arts of Finland Prize is a prize created in 2013 for Finnish artists. This is the fifth time it has been awarded. The 2022 winner, Katarina Reuterwill receive a cash prize of 25,000 Euros, exposure to EMMA and an accompanying catalog.

Artist Katarina Reuter (b. 1964) graduated from the Finnish Academy of Fine Arts in 1988.

She is currently based in the rural district of Raasepori, surrounded by the nature motifs she depicts in her paintings. Reuter is known for her nuanced depictions of intimate natural settings and miniature creatures rendered with exquisitely delicate brushstrokes. Her nature scenes fuel the imagination with their wealth of layers and meanings.

The jury commented on their choice as follows: “Katarina Reuter’s skillfully executed paintings exhibit a slow, meditative quality that is often overlooked in contemporary art – an ability to pause and quietly observe one’s immediate surroundings and small details. Her art is relevant today not only because she has been painting images of nature for many years, but also because her art raises extremely important questions related to our relationship to nature, biodiversity and to the micro-worlds that nature harbors within itself. the classical heritage of painting, but its style of expression indicates a very unique way of interpreting and experiencing the natural environment.”

Awarded every two years, the Academy of Fine Arts of Finland prize is awarded to a Finnish artist at his creative peak whose work has sparked international interest. EMMA has been a partner of the prize since 2013. Previous winners who have held prize exhibitions at EMMA are Aaron Heino, Tuomas A. Laitinen, Camilla Vuorenmaa and Outi Pieski. The City of Espoo financially supports the award as part of an effort to bring visibility to interesting and relevant contemporary artists in Espoo and EMMA.

The 2022 winner was chosen by a jury appointed by the Academy of Fine Arts of Finland, consisting of Professor Mauri Yla KotolaPresident of the Foundation of the Academy of Fine Arts of Finland, engraver Johanna Pihlajamaapainter Erno Enkenbergexecutive director of EMMA Pilvi Kalhama and cultural director of the city of Espoo Susanna Tommila.

Source: Espoo Museum of Modern Art


Comments are closed.